FR EN

LOAN

31 MAY - 01 OCT 2017
MUDAC - LAUSANNE CH

Mirror Mirror

Work of the Collection of 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine : Patty Chang

images/manifestation/Chang1-1-web.jpg
 

Patty Chang, Fountain, 1999. Coll. 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine ©P. Chang

The idea that we live in the age of the image has been so thoroughly drilled into us, that all discourse now defines our era in these terms. Paradoxically, it has never been more difficult for each of us to read, analyse and interpret them. The speed with which images are broadcast, especially with new technologies, seems to be inversely proportional to our capacity to understand them in all their complexity.

The one object that has been inextricably linked to the idea of image across all ages and art forms, from art to literature, new media to design, must surely be the mirror. As well as its reflective function, it is has also been imbued with strong symbolic connotations. The mirror is thus associated with an array of myths across many cultures.
The exhibition Mirror Mirror takes the form of a series of chapters and aims to bridge the microscopic gap sepa- rating our image from our being. Our reflection is utterly specific, making it undoubtedly the most complex of all images. In it, recognition and illusion are confused, giving rise to an inner disorder linked to our constant desire to read our identity here.

Each chapter tackles a specific theme relating to the mirror or reflections, and presents an array of design objects, complemented by others from the worlds of contemporary art and photography. Artists, whether famous or emerging, offer their take on the idea which, on the frozen surface of the window, now defines our being in the world

Share
 CALENDAR
 

  MAY 2017  

M T W T F S S
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
 NEWS
 

Exhibitions / Oct 25 2019 – Jan 26, 2020 at Frac /Cécile B. Evans. Amos’ World & Degrés Est : Mock

 

Visite LSF| Dim 24 Nov, 15h au Frac, gratuit /Avec Jocelyne Wilhelm

 

Crystallmess | Wed Nov 20 at Frac, free access /Collective Amnesia : In Memory of Logobi

FR EN

PRÊT

31 MAI - 01 OCT 2017
MUDAC - LAUSANNE CH

Miroir, miroir

Prêt d’œuvre de la collection du 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine : Patty Chang

images/manifestation/Chang1-1-web.jpg
 

Patty Chang, Fountain, 1999. Coll. 49 Nord 6 Est – Frac Lorraine ©P. Chang

Il n’est plus aucun discours qui ne définisse notre époque comme celle de l’image. Paradoxalement, il n’a jamais été plus difficile pour chacun de nous de les lire, de les analyser et de les interpréter. Leur vitesse de diffusion semble être inversement proportionnelle à notre capacité à les saisir dans leur complexité. S’il est un objet associé inextricablement à l’image et qui traverse les époques et les différents genres de la création, de l’art à la littérature, des nouveaux médias au design, c’est bien le miroir. Objet à la fonction scopique, il possède également une forte connotation symbolique. On le retrouve ainsi associé à différents mythes.

Articulée en chapitres, Miroir Miroir se propose de traverser l’intervalle séparant notre image de notre être. De toutes les images, le reflet, dans sa spécificité, reste sans aucun doute la plus complexe. La reconnaissance et l’illusion s’y trouvent confondues et produisent en nous un trouble lié à notre désir constant d’y lire notre identité.

Chacun des chapitres abordera un thème précis en relation au miroir ou au reflet, et présentera un ensemble d’objets de design qui seront complétés par d’autres issus de l’art contemporain, mais également de la photographie. Les créateurs célèbres, mais aussi émergents apporteront leur regard sur ce qui, à la surface glacée de la vitre, définit aujourd’hui notre être au monde.

Share
 CALENDRIER
 

  MAI 2017  

L M M J V S D
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
 NEWS
 

Exhibition / 23 Juin – 05 Nov /Ressources Humaines Commissaire invitée : Virginie Jourdain

 

Projet Grand Est / 23 juin – 05 Nov, au Frac, gratuit / Orée du jour Julie C. Fortier, artiste

 

Restitution de résidence / 23 juin – 05 Nov, au Frac, gratuit / Albums de familles lorrains Ysé Tran, cinéaste

 

Exposition / Du 06 Juillet au 08 janvier 18, La Grande Place, Musée du Cristal, St-Louis-lès-bitche / Arweider Avec Anne Delrez, Julie Luzoir. Vernissage Mercredi 05 Juillet à 18h30

 

Exposition / 07 Juillet- 30 sept, médiathèque J. Schaefer, Bitche / Libérons les mots ! Vernissage : jeudi 06 Juillet à 18h